| 
  • If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Stop wasting time looking for files and revisions! Dokkio, a new product from the PBworks team, integrates and organizes your Drive, Dropbox, Box, Slack and Gmail files. Sign up for free.

View
 

Read Alikes by Audience

Page history last edited by Terry Doherty 9 years, 7 months ago

A read alike is a book (or series) that is similar to something you have already read -- and already like! The formula is straightforward:  If you like [insert author, title, series name] then you might like _________.

 

Read alikes make it easy to keep kids reading and stretch in incremental steps.  Most read-alike lists are geared toward independent readers, though you can occasionally find a list for easy readers. If you are looking for read-alikes that aren't listed here, scroll down to the bottom of this page for resources that may be able to help you.

 

Elementary Readers (Independent readers – 3rd grade and up)

If you liked ...

 

Captain Underpants Read-alikes... Charles County Public Library website

Hardy Boys Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Junie B. Jones Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone (date)

Little  House on the Prairie Read-alikes... Charles County Public Library website

Magic Treehouse Read-alikes... Charles County Public Library website

 

 

Middle Grade If you liked …

Frindle Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Harry Potter Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Hatchet Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Holes Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

 

Lemony Snicket Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Lock it, Lick it, Click it: Diaries, Letters and Email Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Maniac Magee Read-alikes… Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

The Outsiders Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

The Princess Diaries Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Stargirl Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern The Reading Zone  (date)

Time Warp Trio Read-alikes... Charles County Public Library website

Vampire Reads- If You Love Twilight! Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Twilight Read-Alikes for Younger Readers School Library Journal (January 2010)

Westing Game Read-alikes Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

 

 

Young Adult If you liked …

Into Thin Air Read-alikes (Adventure stories) Sarah Mulhern @ The Reading Zone  (date)

Mockingjay Alicia @ LibrarYAn (August 2010)

 

Other Read-Alike Resources

 

Charles County Public Library website lists

Hennepin County Library website tools, including lists and book/author searches

New Jersey State Library Youth Services website lists

What Should I Read Next website tool for book/author searches

 

 

Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.